Book Review: Magpie Murders

images.jpeg

As you guys may know, one of my New Years Resolutions was to read 15 books. So I thought “Hey, why not do a book review on every book you read?” So here I am, commencing on my first book of 2017. Hopefully it all goes well… 🙃

Today’s book is Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz. 

I’ve always been a big fan of his books and when I found out that he released a new one, I was ecstatic and knew I had to lay my hands on it!

The whole novel is set in England.

It begins with an editor, Susan Reyland reading through a copy of the fictional author Alan Conway’s last book for the famous Atticus Pund series. What’s so special about Magpie Murders is that it’s a novel in a novel. I didn’t realise this until I was halfway through the book. The “ending” was absolutely horrible. But little did I know that this wasn’t the ending! As I continued cruising through the book, I discovered that it was actually another mystery within this book: Alan Conway has died and Susan Reyland is trying to find the ending of the book.

The present day mystery also had several parallels between Conway’s novel and his death! (But I shall not mention anything. 😶). Nevertheless, Horowitz’s superb writing skills manages to make the transition from a fictional mystery to the present day mystery a smooth one.

However, as there are quite a lot of characters in this book, I had to keep track of the different characters but noting down who was who and who was what and how person A was related to person B.

Overall, Magpie Murders is an excellently written book. Horowitz captures and hold the readers attention throughout the novel through his unique structuring approach. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery. Fantastic.

xx

Leave a Reply

